Sunday, January 5, 2014

HELLLLOOOOOO!
How´s it going? Sounds like New Years was super fun for you all! For me it was good too. We actually were working a ton that day, but we took a break to go eat dinner at a memebers house and then go do a ward party. Here in spain they have a tradition that before the last strike of midnight (or really with all the strikes of the bell) you have to eat 12 grapes. So BONG...eat a grape...BONG...eat a grape...BONG...and so forth. It was fun, but the member who gave us the grapes neglected to tell us that they had seeds in them. So it was a crunchy bunch of grapes, but it was fun. The only thing I really missed was the super good junk food we eat. I mean we still got shrimp, because that´s a classic here on New Years, but I was dying for some roasted red pepper dip. Maybe I´ll see if I can try to make some sometime. Sounds like Grandma´s was fun. It´s weird to think that you guys are going on with your normal lives, I don´t even know what normal is anymore :) But things are going really well. This week we have transfers so the last two nights we have been up until about 2 in the morning buying tickets and figuring out how people are going to get all over the southern half of Spain. Ugh! So I´m a bit tired, but not too bad. It´s weird to  be out so late. I feel super jack. (disobedient) But you´ve gotta do what you´ve gotta do, and right now that´s what we have to do. But I think late nights are over. So no worries. So I was talking to the Castillos (a senior couple who works here in the office, they are amazing!) and we were just kinda talking about life and things and we started talking about dad a bit. They know just about everything that´s happening in the mission with all the missionaries, so they basically knew what was going on. Like I´ve said before, I´ve really come to grips with everything, but it was nice to just talk really real about it. Hermana Castillo asked and I said something about it being a really big learning experience, and she said, "So that translated basically means it really stinks." And I was like, Yeah, basically :) I mean it does suck, but you just keep moving forward. It was a great life lesson. There is no reason to candy coat anything, say it like it is and keep going forward. Lying to yourself about how you feel about it just keeps you down. But when you realize it´s natural and okay to want to shout to the heavens, why us? Why now? WHY? and then you do it, and then move forward, you feel a lot better. Dad, you´ve always been a great example of that. I mean you don´t mince your words, you say it like it is, and then you keep going. I´ve never heard you complain once more than you deserved to, and that´s really what it is. We should have the chance to get mad, get sad, and just let it out. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. When you loose your trust or faith in the Lord, that´s when the problems start. So, what did I learn? Scream, cry, get sad, get mad when you need to, and then MOVE FORWARD! That´s life. I mean with the record we have in our family I´m due to peace out before 60, might as well live 60 years of an awesome, exciting, impacting life! That may seem kinda pessimistic, but the way I see it, it´s not at all. I mean we have eternity, a few years less here doesn´t seem like too big a deal with that in the background. And really who knows? We could live 120 years or go tomorrow, but we´re here right now, what are we doing? I love you all and invite you to think about that. We´re here, so what are we doing? Hopefully something AWESOME!
Love you all,
Elder Charlie Flint

PS I got packages from Terri, and the Billats, but nothing from Liz yet. I did get my permit too, thanks for that! Let the Billats know I say thank you. I would like to send them a thank you card, but I may not be able to, because of poorness and lack of time :) Thanks for everything! Love you!

No comments:

Post a Comment